Hello my lovelies!

Tired of dark hair, or being a feeling a brunette doesn’t suit you?

Here is some information about how you can go from dark to blonde!

First a little research and thoughts about this whole process.

Is your hair virgin hair, or has it been coloured before, in that chase which way, to the darker or the lighter scale, before you went back to your current hair colour?

Well in my case, I was magenta red before colouring my hair brown.

Second on the list is: do you want to sacrifice your hair on such a damaging process? You may want to trim your ends, or like I had to, cut your hair short.

I did it, and now I’m caring my hair like it’s a freaking baby.

If you haven’t coloured your hair before, check if your allergic to it! For heaven’s sake that is very important!

In this post, I will list all the thing I needed for going from this:

dark to blonde1

to this:

dark to blonde2

So first of all you will need a bleaching process.

What I used is Granier Truly Blonde Decolor L++

(lightens up to 8 tones)

dark to blonde3

I chose Granier because I like the ending results of the bleaching, and I think it’s the one with the best after hair care.

What you get in the package are:

– Gloves (remember to use them!)

– Bottle of developer

– 2(?) small packages of bleaching powder

– anti-yellow shine after conditioner

And of course

– The instructions! (remember to read if you’re not used to colour your hair)

Since I had dark hair I chose to let the bleach sit in for 45 minutes, which is top for what the instructions recommend and what I recommend you leave the bleach in. It will stop working after 45-60 minutes, but won’t stop damage if you keep it in for longer.

If you’re colouring from dark hair (especially if it’s not your natural hair colour) it will NOT turn blonde with just the one bleaching process.

Your hair should be a lovely orange/yellow brassy colour, which is far from a nice blonde we are going for.

To remove the brassy orange/yellow colour, you will need a hair dye that has ash in it. It will, and I repeat will do wonders!

Give your scalp a couple of days, if not a weeks rest before you continue the process.

To get rid of the orange/yellow colour I used this miracle worker:

Granier Belle Color lightest ash blonde 111

dark to blonde5

This beauty here comes of course with all the needing things:

– gloves (again use them!)

– cream developer

– the dye

– After care

– Instructions.

This dye lightens your hair up to 3 tones and gets rid of the orange/yellow brassy colour.

After using this once, I got a nice honey blonde hair colour, but since I wanted to go lighter I used a second one a couple of days after.

Now to the after care:

As I warned you about, bleaching your hair and using to much dye on it on such short time, will damage your hair like fuck.

As I mentioned in the start, when you’re done with the progress and you’ve received the hair colour you wanted, you may want to trim your ends or cut your hair a bit shorter.

To keep my hair smooth and not dry as fuck I use a keratin oil.

dark to blonde6

I apply this baby on damp hair and after that, I use a heat protector before I blow dry  my hair.

To keep your hair nice and blonde (and avoid the yellow shine to return) I of course use a silver shampoo. I’ve used a couple of different brands but the one I like the most ended up being:

dark to blonde7

Usually I leave this baby in for a couple of minutes and then rinse out. And to keep your hair smooth I of course add conditioner. Get one that’s moisturising. It helps your hair from tangling.

I hope this helps a lot and if you have any questions, just ask away! 😀